What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

You’ve been asking me since I was fourteen

And I still don’t have an answer for you

Tell me where my path will lead

And in which way I should guide the steed

You started really pushing when I turned sixteen

I felt the pressure looming and buried myself in

A range of subjects and exams

Better not to worry about it

You became insistent for an answer at eighteen

Angry when there was no reply

Silence when I moved away

And relief when I held my certificate high

Yet now when I am twenty one

With grades and experiences

And an understanding of where my strengths lie

I still stutter when delivering my answer.

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

