Before

I knew how to be your friend
The duties of the job were clear to me
Before we added prefixes like ‘girl’
I thought of you differently

Your arms are a fortress
I cannot escape
Before they had a gate with a latch
I could go as I pleased

Now the fence has been fortified
The electric stings me when I go too far
Before you trusted me with freedom
I used to thank you for that

The trap shows no signs of crumbling
As strong as a prison
Before I had no need to tell you that

I, my friend can fly.

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

