Third Wheel

It should be simple to tell someone that you like them
Maybe even love them, given half the chance
Say it outright without fear that you think they’re a gem
Gift a box of chocolates; you’re just full of that romance
Enact out all of the clichés; adoration with the novelty
Have sex in the kitchen, a foot rub gone awry
Carve your names on a tree proving your monogamy
Say cheesy things like ‘you’re the apple of my eye’
And although I roll my eyes and laugh with derision
Secretly I’m jealous of all the schmaltzy crap you get to do
So when I threaten your boyfriend with circumcision

Just say ‘I love you too’ and leave me feeling blue.

 

 

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

