Beautiful Dirge

How can two notes create flames?
Fire that purges my very heart of love
Till it leaves only rage behind
How can a melody have such power?
To make me weep so uncontrollably
Till I’m gasping not only for air but justice
How can beautiful lyrics be linked to such vengeance?
These innocent words mean devastation to me
That I can’t bear to imagine anymore
Because I wasn’t there, no-one was
Only you suffered that pain, bore the brunt of anger
Your dreams and ambitions burned away
Never to be realised and never to be shared
And how selfish of me to wonder such silly things like
What was your ritual for the shower?
Did you stand to wash your feet and balance?
Or sat down and did the logical thing?
It tortures me to know that only you know these truths
And that they lived and died with you
Knowing that I can only ponder as to their accuracy
They buried your body to that song
The one whose tune I can no longer listen to
But it’s the only one I want to
I want to be able to revel in my misery like humans do
Because to move on is to leave you stuck in the past
But to grieve forever keeps you with me
Let’s you share my moments, my firsts

To give you a life that you lost.

 

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

