The Smug Phrase

There’s no residual warmth left
no sign you were ever here
no echo of ‘I love you’
rattling through these walls
I said we didn’t say it enough

The only things that serve
as a reminder that you once
breathed within these walls
are the rings from the
coffee mugs I nagged you about

And I can’t go outside
watch all the happy couples
they make me sick
I wish they’d disappear
or their happiness would turn to misery

You tore our happy home apart
and I won’t say ‘I told you so’
because you’re not here to hear it
I refuse to speak to invisible ears

but it’s not like they ever listened anyway.

 

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

