Those Three Words

Those three words gave me hope
sat in the air innocently
left unattended and ignited my bones
passionate fire leaving only charred ivory behind
a flickering of dangerous menace
sultry visions clouding my view
came and went quicker than lightning
I was the tree you struck
recognition not even given a time frame
lost in the heat
the briefest glimmer
died in your eyes
burned on my tongue
choked me like perfume
the arsenic power of love
overpowering emotions in a ring of
green flames like a sacrificial Gatsby
powerful where I was weak
telling me you loved me last
and stopped first
I want to know the reason why
my breath hitched
ragged continued
why I gave up living
stopped trying
and it was okay
the world went on

when I didn’t.

 

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

