A Little Island

My happy place belongs to no-one

Not to me, you or some awfully rich man

It is yet to be found

To be tainted by the triumphs of modern life

With beauty unseen to the human eye

A vista for the air that surrounds it

It changes every time I dream it

To match my mercurial moods

Sometimes it rains

The tears of a hundred childless mothers

To reflect the grief I cannot outwardly display

Other times it shimmers so delightfully

I wonder if I have discovered Aladdin’s cave

This is my happy place because it will never be found

It belongs inside of my mind

And will always be mine

So I’ll never have to worry about theft or thievery

Happiness cannot fully be shared

The concept differs from person to person

But it can be created.

Little Ginge x

2 thoughts on “A Little Island

Leave a Reply

