They’ll Say

They’ll say I still love you

They’ll see the effort I’ve gone to

The details, the thoughtful touches

And come to that misguided conclusion

They’ll say it’s time I moved on

Found myself a nice man to focus on

And forget all about you

They’ll remind me what happened

With ugly remarks and painful prompts

They’ll tell me I deserve better than you

That you weren’t worthy of my love

And that you take me for granted

They won’t listen to my protests

They’ll shake their heads defiantly

When I try to contradict them

They’ll leave with pity in their hearts

And whisper behind my back

They’ll say I still love you

But we know better.

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

