Negotiations In Love

Your love comes with conditions

An agreement of terms you needed in addition

To worship your being and clap on command

Like a performing seal’s flippers it hurts my hands

Your constant criticism leaves me bruised and raw

And my heart beats for you no more

I’d much rather flip you off than say ‘I love you’ again

Or jump from the top of towering Big Ben

It means nothing if you need the words twenty times a day

You call all the shots and I need my say

I loved you for being tenacious

Turns out you were just ungracious

So I’m adding a term to our ‘love’ contract

Does the clause ‘dumped’ make a big impact?

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

