A Hug From A Monster

I’m running all the time in my mind

Staying one step ahead of my monster

Sometimes it grabs my ankle and I stumble

Pulling me into its destructive embrace

Drowning me until breathing is a forgotten art

My head barely reaches above the negative

I sink into the recesses of my mind

The thoughts I’ve shunned and distanced myself from

And start to turn blue from the effort of fighting

A lot of my thoughts aren’t pretty

They’re beyond ugly; misshapen creatures

Willing me to love them again, but never will

I prefer to be shallow in my selection of memories

Picking the ones that taught me valuable lessons

Regret is just a reflex now

It reminds me to breathe.

And breathe.

Little Ginge x

Leave a Reply

